David Pate and Rex Shepherd at Rock Garden Recording Studio. Photo by Dan Byers.


Rex again partners with David Pate (Sam Rivers' Rivbea Orchestra), on a new set of composed and improvised pieces, freely interpreting the written music with malleable time and harmony, using them as springboards for new ideas, and experimenting with instant composition creating new improvised pieces featuring prepared guitar and effected horns.