We Are All Branches of the Same Tree

The second release from avant-jazz group the Oddyssey Quartet, featuring twelve improvised pieces from four musicians who have only played together a handful of times but who share the common ancient language of music, bringing them together in a cohesion of intuitive conversation, and demonstrating in real time that we all really are branches of the same tree. Featuring former Albert Ayler Quintet bassist Bill Folwell, and former Sam Rivers Rivbea Orchestra saxophonist David Pate, with Jose Cochez on drums, and Rex Shepherd on guitar and prepared guitar.

A sci-fi space travel adventure starring Albert Ayler

This music attempts to tell a story about the resilience of the human race to solve it's problems, moving from a short sighted obsession with attainment to the use of technology to care for all people equally, using the idea of space travel and colonization of a new planet, and the discovery of Albert Ayler and others already there to complete the allegory. The story ends with a celebration and a march in Albert Ayler's honor. This music is dedicated to the memory and spirit of Albert Ayler, and many others, who continue to inspire us to reach for a place without limitations.

See other cast members below

Bill Folwell

The Albert Ayler Quintet - Upright Bass

Ars Nova

Insect Trust - Hoboken Saturday Night

The Mystic Knights of the Oingo Boingo

John Lee Hooker 

The Oddyssey Quartet

   Upright Bass, Electric Bass, Trumpet, Autoharp, Percussion